The Hubble Space Telescope Primer for Cycle 26

The HST Primer provides an introduction to the Hubble Space Telescope for Phase I proposers

About This Document

The Hubble Space Telescope (HST) Primer for Cycle 26 is a companion document to the Hubble Space Telescope Call for Proposals for Cycle 26. It provides an overview of HST, with basic information about telescope operations, instrument capabilities, and technical aspects of the proposal preparation process. A thorough understanding of the material in this document is essential for the preparation of a competitive proposal. The Call for Proposals discusses the policies and procedures for submitting a Phase I proposal for HST observing or archival research. Technical documentation on the instruments are available in their respective handbooks, available on the HST Document overview site.

Late Breaking News

The call for HST Cycle 26 GO and AR proposals is now closed.

Investigators may still submit proposals for Cycle 26 Mid-Cycle Time or Director's Discretionary Time.

For the current Call for Proposals, see Hubble Space Telescope Call for Proposals for Cycle 27

Proposing Calendar and Deadlines

  • Phase I proposal deadline:

    August 17, 2018 at 8:00pm EDT
  • Cycle 26 Peer Review: 

    October, 2018
  • Phase II proposal deadline:

    November 29, 2018
  • Budget deadline: 

    November 29, 2018
  • Cycle 26 Mid-Cycle Deadline: 

    January 30, 2019

Where to Get Help

Submit questions to the HST Help Desk at See for additional tools and resources.

Who's Responsible

The HST Call for Proposals and related materials for Cycle 26 were edited by Lou Strolger, Brian Williams, and Dan Coe, with many contributions from Paul Mulgrew, Susan Rose, Dave Adler, Annalisa Calamida, Ron Downes, Andrew Fox, Cristina Oliveira, Gisella de Rosa, David Sahnow, Paula Sessa, and Paule Sonnentrucker.

Members of the Science Mission Office at STScI are responsible for the oversight of the HST science program selection process. The members involved include Neill Reid (Associate Director for Science and Head of the Science Mission Office), Amaya Moro-Martin, Louis-Gregory Strolger, Brian Williams, and Technical Manager Brett Blacker. The members of the Science Policies Group include Claus Leitherer (head), Neill Reid, Alessandra Aloisi, Andy Fruchter, Jennifer Lotz, Amaya Moro-Martin, and Molly Peeples.

The Hubble Space Telescope Primer for Cycle 26

The root page HSPPrePub:@self could not be found in space HST Science Policy.

HST Proposal Opportunities and Science Policies

The root page HSPPrePub:@home could not be found in space HST Science Policy.